Making Time

Do you ever feel like you just don’t have the time? The time to relax? The time to enjoy life? The time to create? The time to just be you? This is how I’ve been feeling lately. Due to so many happenings, I just haven’t felt like I’ve had the time for me.

Or have I?

I am in the middle of the beginning of a transition period, if that even makes sense. (It does, promise. lol) The details are too sticky to get into here; however, I realized (or rather, re-realized) recently after joining CBC and Superhero Summer Camp that I do have the time – that even though I’m busy, the time is there. Or rather, here, now.

Don’t get me wrong, despite the busyness they often create, I feel so blessed to have the job(s) that I do, the life I live, the people I know and love, but sometimes I find myself feeling too guilty when I sway away from any direction that doesn’t directly affect my original goals of coming here (support Jeremy/save money). After giving it some thought, though, I realized what I have heard, read, and understood for several times before now: I need to make the time. I need to schedule the time, otherwise I will continually find myself feeling guilty for not working more on editing those papers, for not adding one more TOEFL tip to that handout, for sitting in the sun when I should be emailing, or researching, or printing. Most importantly, despite having heard, read, and understood all of this at one or more points throughout my life before, the main point I realized today was that I haven’t actually given myself permission to not feel guilty. Let me say that one more time: I haven’t given myself permission.

So, hereby this summer, I give myself permission to create (even if it’s not the most beautiful piece of artwork or the most eloquent essay/story/poem). I give myself permission to get messy. To enjoy the sunshine. To take time for me. It may be hard to let go of the tasks waiting on my desk. It may be hard to be in the present moment, but I am here, and the time is now. So, whether it is for 30 minutes or three hours, I give myself permission to make the time each day and enjoy it. In reality, the time out I take for me will actually help to fuel my other work, to revitalize my mind and energy, as it will resonate in the other areas of my life as well.

Is there something that you’ve been wanting to do for a while now, but you just haven’t been able to find the time? How would you feel if you actually did it? Grant yourself the permission to enjoy some YOU time, even if it’s just thirty minutes per day. (You have my permission.)

2 thoughts on “Making Time

  1. Laura, as a long-time part-tiime worker and volunteer for many positions, I fully understand what you are doing. SCHEDULE is the big word. You have to schedule the ‘work’ time as well as the other things. Many people who work from home, or are their own boss, never quit working. You have to figure how many hours a week are your work week and schedule them in 2 hr, 4hr, 8 hour blocks. Whatever is best for you and the job. When there is a specific task with a deadline, you may have to schedule some extra time, Otherwise, work only during your ‘workday’. Then do housework, hobbies, reading: whatever other things you want to do in your life. I’ve learned that even then I tend to over-schedule. Or as my husband would put it…put 5# into a 10# bag! 🙂

  2. Haha – yes, it seems that’s been something I’ve had to work on this year. I feel very blessed to have my work and be this busy, but yes, scheduling is where it’s at! 🙂

Leave a Reply

